How Muse works with your guidance and approval

Updated:3 weeks ago

We've designed Muse with multiple layers of privacy and security protections, including checking with you before sensitive actions like payments or purchases. But no automated system is perfect. Because Muse acts on your behalf, you're responsible for guiding it carefully and approving its actions. You should review its activity, and only grant the access you're comfortable with.

Muse works with your oversight

Your Muse can make mistakes or take unexpected actions. To use Muse safely, we recommend you:

  • Control what it accesses.
    • You choose what information or Connectors your Muse has access to and what actions your Muse can take on your behalf. As you’re learning, start with low risk tasks until you become more familiar with how your Muse works.
  • Oversee its actions regularly to make sure they match your intentions.
    • You can also ask your Muse to provide the sources it based its response on.
  • Correct any mistakes promptly.
    • You're responsible for fixing errors, including with third party services or recipients.
  • Review your permissions periodically.
    • Check which Connectors Muse can access and your default permissions settings for those Connectors and adjust as needed.
  • Comply with the Muse Terms.
    • These contain important information about your responsibilities and what you must not use Muse for.

How to set boundaries on what Muse can do

You can set boundaries for your Muse and adjust them at any time to match what you’re comfortable with. It’s worth understanding the concepts of read and write actions. Read actions let Muse view your information (example: checking your calendar or reading an email), while write actions let Muse make changes and manage information on your behalf (example: sending a message or making a purchase). Your Muse learns over time which decisions need your sign off.

Setting permissions

To manage your Muse permissions, navigate to Settings, then tap Permissions. Here you can manage:

  1. Connectors
    • If you select Ask for some actions, your Muse will ask for permission before every write action and important read actions.
    • If you select Always ask, your Muse will ask for permission before any action.
  2. Web access defaults
    • If you select Ask for some actions, your Muse will ask for permission when your information may be shared or it visits a website that is unfamiliar.
    • If you select Always ask, your Muse will ask for permission before accessing any website.
  3. Manage permissions
    • If you select Connectors, you can manage your permissions per Connector.
    • If you select Artifacts and scheduled tasks, you can manage your approvals for each scheduled task and artifacts.
    • If you select Allowed websites, you can view which websites you’ve allowed your Muse to access and revoke permission.

Approving actions

When Muse takes an action, it will ask you for approval in line with the permissions settings you’ve set up. Approval options for actions can include:

  • Allow once: Muse proceeds this one time
  • Allow for this task: Muse can take this type of action for the entire task
  • Allow for this site: Muse can take this type of action for this website in the future without asking again
  • Always allow: Muse can take this type of action for this Connector in the future without asking again
  • Deny: Muse won’t proceed this one time

You can tap See task details to see additional details about the task before deciding what permission to grant.

Monitoring Muse’s actions

Your Muse is designed to provide transparency into what it's doing:

  • Your assistant avatar at the top of your screen shows live status updates (examples: "Is working," "Making something", "Is updating memory").
  • Visit your Activity log by tapping your assistant icon to see a chronological record of actions your Muse has taken and permissions you’ve given it.
  • Check Upcoming by tapping your assistant icon to see scheduled tasks and reminders.
  • Tap See task details on any permission request to see additional task details before deciding what permission to grant.
  • Browse your System Files for a deeper look into your Muse’s activities.

Controls you have over your Muse’s actions

In addition to the controls mentioned above, you can also:

  • Undo or stop
    • You can ask your Muse to undo or stop some actions, like reading a website or comparing prices for a purchase, in chat. Some other actions, like sending an email, cannot be reversed, just like if you were doing them yourself. Keep your default permissions under review to stay in control.
  • Disconnect Connectors
    • You can disconnect Connectors at any time to prevent future actions.
  • Reset
    • Resetting Muse permanently deletes all information, chat history, files, and active tasks. This cannot be undone. Learn more about resetting Muse.

What Muse is not built to do

See the Meta AI Terms of Service and Muse Terms of Service for information about what you shouldn’t use Muse for.

Share

Was this article helpful?

Yes
No