How to manage your Muse data

Updated:3 weeks ago

Your choice to help improve Meta’s AI models

You decide whether we can use your interactions with Muse to train and improve our AI models. This setting is on when you first use Muse. You can change it at any time. When the setting is off, your interactions with Muse will not be used to develop and improve AI at Meta. Changes to this setting also apply to previous interactions.

Allowing us to use your interactions in training helps us make smarter, more capable models. If you do allow this, we still remove certain categories of personally identifiable information like names, email addresses, phone numbers and Social Security Numbers. We also disassociate the interactions from your account.

To update your setting:

  1. Go to Settings, then tap Data controls.
  2. Toggle off Help improve our AI models.
  3. Select Turn off to confirm.

Information Muse stores and where to access, edit and delete it

Your Muse learns about you over time and stores information like your conversation history, artifacts and other files it uses to provide your experience. The simplest way to manage your information is to ask your Muse. You can ask it what it has saved about you, for access to a file or to delete information. Your Muse will help you in your chat.

You can also use controls in Muse to manage your information such as to access, edit or delete it.

Information Muse stores:

Where to access the information:

Where to edit and delete the information:

Your interactions with Muse. Your messages and instructions, Muse’s responses, and information from services – including Connectors – used to perform tasks for you. This can include text, voice, photos, things you create together and information about you or others.

Navigate to the Chats tab.

You can interact with your Muse in the main chat thread, or create side chats to organize your chats. You can delete Side chat threads. In the Chats tab select the relevant side chat, tap the three dot menu, select Delete, then confirm.

You can also delete your messages from the main chat and side chats. Tap and hold the message, select Delete, then confirm.

To delete your entire main chat thread, you can reset Muse. Go to Settings, then Data Controls, Reset, and follow the instructions on screen to confirm by tapping Reset. This will reset Muse to its original state and permanently delete all information including chat history, files and active tasks.

Information from Connectors. Information Muse retrieves or receives from connected services, such as emails and calendar events. Information used for a task forms part of your interactions with Muse.

You can ask Muse in your chat what information it has from a Connector.

You can use the forget skill. Ask Muse in chat to forget a topic or set of interactions.

Goals: Personal goals that you have set, which Muse will help you track progress and send check-ins.

Navigate to the Goals tab.

In the Goals tab, tap the relevant goal, tap the three dot menu, select Delete, then confirm.

Artifacts: Documents, images, videos, podcasts and other files that Muse creates .

Navigate to the Library tab.

In the Library tab, tap the individual file, then delete the file or open the file to edit.

System Files: your Muse stores all files that are uploaded or created by you in system files.

Navigate to the Library tab, then select System Files.

In the Library tab, tap System Files and select the individual file that you want to delete.

Reminders and scheduled tasks: Reminder times and content are stored so they can be delivered on schedule.

Tap the Assistant icon, then tap Upcoming.

You can ask your Muse in chat to update or delete a reminder or scheduled task.

Memories: Information you share may be saved in Memories so Muse can personalize responses.

Tap the Assistant icon, then Identity, then Memory.

You can edit and delete information in the Memory.md file directly. Tap the Assistant icon, then Identity, then Memory to update or delete the Memory file.

Soul: Who your Muse is, including core truths, boundaries, and personality.

Tap the Assistant icon, then Identity, then Soul.

You can edit and delete information in the Soul.md file directly. Tap the Assistant icon, then Identity, then Soul to update or clear the Soul file.

Identity: Information about your Muse (examples: its name, creature, vibe, or tag line).

Tap the Assistant icon, then Identity.

You can edit and delete information in the Identity.md file directly. Tap the Assistant icon, then Identity, then Edit.

Important information about deleting your Muse information

You can delete any message you send to Muse, Side chats with Muse, and files in your virtual machine. If you want to start from scratch, you can reset Muse, which deletes all your Muse data. After you delete something from Muse, Muse may still remember information it learned from what you deleted.

Forgetting

You can also use the forget skill: simply ask Muse to forget a topic or set of interactions. Forgetting works by asking Muse to look for information about a specific person, topic or matter in its memories and supporting files and remove it to the best of its ability. You can find out what Muse remembers about you at any time by asking directly, or by viewing files like your MEMORY.md.

How to reset Muse

You can reset Muse to its original state and permanently delete all information including chat history, files and active tasks:

  1. Go to Settings and select Data Controls.
  2. Tap Reset Muse and follow the instructions on screen.
  3. Tap Reset to confirm.

Note: Resetting Muse cannot be undone.

You can also delete your Meta account from Accounts Center. This will delete all information associated with your account, including Muse.

Disconnect Connectors and services

Learn more about how to disconnect Connectors at How Muse works with Connectors.

How to export your information from Muse

Download your Muse information: You can download a copy of your chats, files and other agent information:

  1. Go to Settings and select Data controls.
  2. Tap Download your Muse data.
  3. Select Download to confirm.

Export your account information: You can also export a copy of your account information:

  1. Go to Settings and select Account Center.
  2. Tap Your information and permissions, then Export your information.
  3. Select Create export to confirm, then select what information you want to export.

Learn more about how to export a copy of your account information.

Share

Was this article helpful?

Yes
No