Mute and unmute your microphone in a world in Meta Horizon
Mute your microphone to avoid being heard or to block background noise.
To mute and unmute your microphone in Worlds:
- From Worlds, double-press
Menu button on your left Touch controller.
- You’ll see a notification letting you know that your mic is now muted and other people in the world can’t hear you.
- To unmute your microphone, double-press
Menu button again.
When mute is turned on, you'll remain muted until you either leave and re-enter Worlds or unmute yourself by double-pressing Menu again.
Mute other people in a world
Mute someone to stop hearing them during your current world session.
There are a few ways you can mute people from your headset:
- Hover over the person’s name tag, then select Mute.
- You can select it again to unmute them.
Or:
- From the main menu in a world, select
People to view Nearby people.
- Hover over the person’s profile card, then select
.
- Select Mute.
To mute and unmute your microphone in a world:
- From Worlds, tap the Microphone icon to mute or unmute yourself.
- To manage your sound settings, tap
.
- Tap Settings then tap Sound. Adjust the settings to your preference.
Mute other people in a world
- Tap
Menu.
- Tap
People.
- Under Nearby, tap
on the profile you want to mute, and scroll to the mute option.
To mute and unmute your microphone in a world:
- From Worlds, tap the Microphone icon to mute or unmute yourself.
- To manage your sound settings, tap
in the top left.
- Tap Settings then tap Sound. Adjust the settings to your preference.
Mute other people in a world
- From Worlds on Facebook or Instagram, tap
Menu.
- Tap People nearby.
- Tap
on the profile you want to mute, and scroll to the mute option.
Muting by creators and admins
Creators and admins can use Mute for World to mute someone, preventing them from being heard in that world.
- They can't be heard by anyone in that world.
- The mute lasts for two hours, but a creator or admin can unmute them at any point.
When your microphone is off, an icon shows it's muted. When on, the icon shows it's unmuted. In headsets, the indicator appears only while speaking. On mobile or computer, it remains visible. This feature is on by default but can be turned off in Sound settings.