Confirm you’re a parent or guardian for a child’s Meta account

89 Likes
Updated:13 weeks ago
We’re gradually updating Accounts Center, which will enable your Meta Account to work across more products, if you choose. You may see either Accounts Center or Meta Account settings as the place to manage your settings. Learn more about updated Meta Accounts.

To verify that an adult is setting up a child’s Meta account, we ask that you set up a verified payment method. You may also be able to confirm your identity through ID verification.

Verified payment method

When you set up a verified payment method, you can use either a credit card or debit card. Your card will be used for verification purposes only, unless you choose to save it for Meta Horizon Store purchases.

If you save your payment method, the card will be synced in Accounts Center or your Meta Account, where it can be managed. Your child won’t have access to your card. They can only request that you purchase apps for them, which you can pay for using your saved card.

Once you add a verified payment method, your card will be charged $1 USD (or the equivalent currency of your country), which will be refunded within 5-7 business days.

If you don’t receive a refund within 5-7 business days, please contact your financial institution.

ID verification

If you are able to do ID verification, your ID may be verified through Yoti, a third-party age verification service.

Yoti is verified by the Age Check Certification Scheme and is the leading age verification provider for several industries around the world including social media, gaming and age restricted e-commerce.

If you choose to use your ID to confirm your age with Yoti, you will need to upload a photo of your driver’s license. This means you may need to allow Meta to have access to your camera.

To capture your photo, you should lay your ID on a flat surface, avoid glare or shadows, and center your ID. Once your ID is scanned, you can submit the photo of it for review, or you can retake the photo.

Tip

When you capture a photo of your ID, the photo might be stored on your device. For security reasons, it's often better to delete this photo from your device's photo gallery after you've completed the ID upload process.

Share

Was this article helpful?

Yes
No

Still need help?

Tell us what you need support with and we’ll find the best solution for you.

Get answers from the community

If you're having trouble, find answers to your questions from Meta Quest users around the world.