How to share an Instagram account with someone using Meta One
Shared access is only available to eligible Instagram accounts. This feature is not available to teens. Learn more about shared access if you've been invited to share an account.
Shared access lets you invite people you trust to access your Instagram account. People you invite can post, like and comment (and, from a professional account, run ads and view insights) all without sharing your password. You can manage and revoke access at any time, and view the actions taken on your account.
If you subscribe to a Meta One plan,you can invite a certain number of people to share access to your account based on your plan. Learn how to subscribe to Meta One.
- Meta One Advanced plan: up to 4 people
- Meta One Expert plan: up to 8 people
- Meta One Max plan: up to 30 people
Invite someone to share access to your account
To invite someone to share access:
- Tap Profile or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
- Tap Menu in the top right.
- Tap Shared access.
- Tap Invite people.
- Search for Instagram accounts and select the people you want to invite, then tap Continue.
- Tap Send invite.
Invitees have 7 days to accept. You'll get a notification when they accept or decline, and you can resend an invite after it expires.
View shared access activity
To view actions taken on your account by people you've shared access with:
- Tap Profile or your profile picture in the bottom right.
- Tap Menu in the top right.
- Tap Shared access.
From here you can:
- Tap Account activity to see all shared access activity.
- Tap ••• More options next to a person, then tap Account activity to see one person's activity.
This includes, but isn't limited to: shared posts and reels, comments, liked posts and new followers.
Manage inbox and story access
People you invite won't have access to your inbox or stories unless you allow it. To manage inbox access:
- Tap Profile or your profile picture in the bottom right.
- Tap Menu in the top right.
- Tap Shared access.
- Below Manage, tap Inbox access.
- Tap the toggle next to a person, then tap Allow. Tap the toggle again to remove access.
To manage story access:
- Tap Profile or your profile picture in the bottom right.
- Tap Menu in the top right.
- Tap Shared access.
- Below Manage, tap Story access.
- Tap the toggle next to a person, then tap Allow. Tap the toggle again to remove access.
Note: People you've blocked can't send you an invite to share an account.
If someone shares an account with you
When you're invited, you'll get a notification and have 7 days to accept or decline. To accept or decline an invite:
- Tap the notification.
- Tap Accept to accept, or Decline to decline.
Once you accept, you can switch between your account and the shared account, and take certain actions (like posting, boosting posts or commenting) on it.
To switch accounts:
- In the top right, next to your profile picture, tap Switch.
- Tap the account you'd like to switch to.
To leave a shared account:
- Switch to the shared account.
- Tap Profile or your profile picture in the bottom right.
- Tap Menu in the top right.
- Scroll to the bottom and tap Leave [account name], then tap Leave to confirm.
Note: People you share access with can block others on your behalf and may see who you've blocked. If you block someone you've shared access with, they'll automatically lose access to your account.