About revoked subscriptions from Meta

Updated:5 days ago

Subscriptions from Meta are being gradually introduced. Some subscriptions may not be available to you yet.

Meta offers different subscriptions, such as Meta One, Meta Verified for creators and businesses, Instagram Plus and Facebook Plus. This article explains why Meta may revoke or cancel your subscription and what happens when your subscription is revoked.

Reasons Meta may revoke your subscription

Meta may revoke, cancel, or remove your subscription for the following reasons:

Payment failure

Meta may cancel your subscription if your payment method fails and you don't have a backup payment method on file. When this happens, you may lose access to the subscription benefits right away.

To avoid this, add a backup payment method to your account. If your default payment fails, Meta charges your backup payment method automatically. If you don't have a backup payment method and your payment fails, you may receive a short grace period to fix the issue before Meta cancels your subscription.

Policy violation

Meta revokes your subscription if your account violates Meta’s policies. You must agree to your subscription’s terms of service and Meta Community Standards. Meta subscription paid benefits are not currently intended for use by government or political entities, including politicians. Failure to comply may result in subscription revocation.

Learn more about various subscription Terms of Services:

Account deletion

If you delete the account linked to your subscription, Meta cancels your subscription. If you delete an individual app account (for example, your Instagram account) that's part of your Meta One subscription, you lose access to Meta One benefits on that app, but your subscription stays active on your other linked accounts.

Account deactivation

If you deactivate the account linked to your subscription, your subscription stays active for 30 days. If you don’t reactivate your account within 30 days, Meta revokes your subscription.

Change in account type

If you switch your account to an ineligible account type, Meta revokes your subscription after 7 days or at the end of your current billing cycle, whichever comes first. If you switch back to an eligible account within this period, your subscription stays active.

Learn more about your subscription’s eligibility requirements:

Change in eligibility

If you no longer meet your subscription’s eligibility requirements – for example, if you move to a location where your subscription isn’t available – Meta cancels your subscription.

App store changes

If you make changes to your subscription directly through the Apple App Store or Google Play Store instead of your subscription’s mobile app, Meta may revoke your subscription.

What happens when Meta revokes your subscription

When Meta revokes your subscription, you lose access to all subscription benefits right away. Meta attempts to notify you of the revocation by email and in-app notification.

A revoked subscription is different from a canceled subscription. When you cancel your subscription, you keep access to your benefits until the end of your current billing cycle. When Meta revokes your subscription, you lose access immediately.

Re-subscribe after revocation

If you want to subscribe to a subscription offered by Meta again after your subscription is revoked, make sure your account meets the eligibility requirements and follows Meta’s policies. You may need to update your account or payment information before you subscribe again.

Learn more about your subscription:

Share

Was this article helpful?

Yes
No