Manage privacy settings for your Meta Horizon profile
Manage your profile's privacy settings
You can choose how social you want to be and how you share your information with others through your profile's privacy settings.
These settings apply anywhere you use your Meta Horizon profile.
You can manage your privacy settings in the Meta Horizon app and Meta Quest.
Learn about privacy settings for a child’s Meta Account.
To manage your privacy settings:
- On your phone, open the Meta Horizon mobile app.
- Tap
Menu at the top of your Horizon Feed, then tap Privacy settings.
- Select a setting.
- Put on your headset, then press
Oculus button /
Meta button on your controller to open the Navigator.
- Select
Settings.
- Select Privacy & safety.
- To change your profile setting, select Social connections, then select a setting.
- To change your other privacy settings, select Audience and visibility, then select a setting.
- From Worlds, select
Menu button on your left controller to open the menu.
- Select
Settings, then select Active status.
- Select Joinable, Online, or Appear offline.
You can also manage your Active Status from Meta Horizon Worlds on a desktop or mobile browser.
- From horizon.meta.com, select the arrow next to your profile photo in the top right, then select Active Status. This will take you to Privacy Center.
- Next to Set your Active Status, select an option from the dropdown menu.
Note: You may need to log in to your account.
About profile privacy settings
Profile
You can make your Meta Horizon profile public or private.
If you set your profile to public:
- Anyone can follow you without your approval.
- Any pending follow requests will automatically be approved.
If you set your profile to private:
- You’ll receive requests to approve followers.
- Only your followers can see your posts, app activity, and list of following and followers.
- People can still search for your name or username and send you follow requests.
- Your profile information like your name, username, bio, profile picture, and avatar will remain public.
No matter what kind of profile you have, you can hide your activity for specific apps with the Hide app activity setting. Hiding your activity for specific apps will prevent followers from seeing the name of that app or the destination you’re in if your Active Status is set to joinable. You can unhide your activity for specific apps at any time.
Note: If you’re between the ages of 13 and 17, your Meta Horizon profile is set to private by default. You can change your profile to public at any time in Settings.
Active Status
Your Active Status allows you to share when you’re online or were recently online.
When you're online or joinable, your followers will see an Active now indicator.
You can choose the following Active Status settings:
- Appear offline: You will appear offline anywhere you use the Meta Horizon profile.
- Online: Your followers will see when you’re online or were recently online.
- Joinable: Your followers will see when you’re online or recently online and what app or destination you're in. They may also be able to join you where you are in certain mixed reality or mobile app experiences.
- You can choose to only allow followers you follow back to join you without an invite.
If you’re between the ages of 13 and 17, your Active Status is set to appear offline by default. You can change this at any time in Settings.
Note: Even if your Active Status is set to appear offline, your location in specific apps will still be shown to others who are using the same app. Other apps may also have their own Active Status setting, such as Messenger.
Hide app activity
You can hide your activity for specific apps whether you have a public or private profile.
To hide your app activity:
- On your phone, open the Meta Horizon mobile app.
- Tap
Menu at the top of your Horizon Feed, then tap Privacy settings.
- Tap Hide app activity, then use the toggles to hide specific apps.
- Put on your headset, then press
Oculus button /
Meta button on your controller to open the Navigator.
- Select
Settings, then select Privacy & safety.
- Select Audience & visibility, then select Hide activity for your apps below Hide activity for specific apps.
- Use the toggles to make your selections.
- From Worlds, select
Menu button on your left controller to open the menu.
- On the right panel, select the arrow next to your username.
- Select Edit privacy settings.
- Select Hide activity for your apps below Hide activity for specific apps.
- Use the toggles to make your selections.
When you select an app to hide activity for, Hidden will appear below the app name.
Note: If you choose to hide your app activity, your activities in these apps may still be visible to others when they’re using the same app as you (example: your scores on the leaderboard).