Manage privacy settings for your child’s Meta Account on Meta Horizon
Manage your child’s privacy settings
If your child is 10-12 years old (age may vary by region) with a Meta Account you manage, you can manage how their information is shared with others through their privacy settings.
Your child’s Meta Horizon profile is their social presence in mixed reality and mobile apps. Your child’s privacy settings will apply anywhere their Meta Horizon profile is used.
Your child’s profile is set to private and can’t be changed. Your child can see when you make changes to their other settings.
When your child turns 13 (age may vary by region), they will manage their own Meta Account. They’ll automatically be enrolled in parental supervision, and their profile will stay private by default. They’ll be in charge of their privacy settings.
To manage your child’s privacy settings:
- Go to Family Center and log in.
- Select your child's account.
- Below Their settings, click Account privacy.
- Select a setting.
- Go to Family Center and log in.
- Select your child's account.
- Below Their settings, tap Account privacy.
- Select a setting.
- On your mobile phone, open the Meta Horizon mobile app.
- Tap
Menu at the top of your Horizon Feed.
- Tap Family Center.
- Select your child's account.
- Go to Their settings, then tap Account privacy.
- Select a setting.
Note: Make sure you’re logged into the app using your account, not your child's.
You can manage your child’s privacy settings from Horizon Worlds on desktop or mobile browser.
- From horizon.meta.com, select your profile photo in the top right, then select Family Center. This will take you to Family Center.
- Select your child's account.
- Below Their settings, select Account privacy.
- Select a setting.
Note: You may need to log into your Meta Account.
About the privacy settings
Private profile
Your child’s Meta Horizon profile is set to private. This setting can’t be changed.
This means that:
- All followers must be approved either by you or your child.
- You can see your child's followers and who they’re following in Family Center on the web and Family Center on the Meta Horizon app.
- You can block people for your child, whether you manage their follow requests or not.
- Your child can unfollow, remove, and block followers at any time.
- Your child’s followers can see your child’s app activity.
- App activity includes information like what apps your child uses, their achievements and high scores in those apps, and what places they visited within apps.
- You and your child can block or remove approved contacts at any time. Learn more about approved contacts.
- Your child’s profile information like name, username, profile picture and avatar remain public.
- People can search for your child’s name or username and send them follow requests.
You and your child can hide your child’s activity for specific apps with the Hide app activity setting. Hiding your child’s activity for specific apps will prevent followers from seeing the name of that app or the destination they’re in if their Active Status is set to joinable. Only you can unhide your child’s activity for specific apps.
Active Status
Your child’s Active Status shares when they’re online or were recently online.
By default, your child’s Active Status is set to appear offline.
Your child can ask for your permission to change their Active Status to online or joinable. If you approve their request, they can change their Active Status at any time. Your child can’t change their Active Status to be more visible than what you’ve allowed.
If your child’s Active Status is online or joinable, their followers will see a indicating their status.
The following Active Status settings are available for your child’s Meta Horizon profile:
- Appear offline: Your child will appear offline anywhere the Meta Horizon profile is used.
- Online: Your child’s followers will see when your child is online or was recently online.
- Joinable: Your child’s followers will see when your child is online or recently online and what app or destination your child is in.
- Your child’s followers can also join your child in their current destination in Meta Horizon Worlds. By default, this is limited to people your child follows who also follow them back. You can choose to allow more people to join your child in Horizon Worlds. Note: You need to approve Horizon Worlds before your child can use it.
- Only approved contacts can join your child in an app or destination you approved outside of Meta Horizon Worlds.
Note: Even if your child’s Active Status is set to appear offline, their location in specific apps will still be shown to others who are using the same app they’re currently in. Other apps may also have their own Active Status settings.
How to hide app activity
You can hide your child’s activity for specific apps. Your child can hide their activity for specific apps from their privacy settings.
Only you can unhide your child’s activity for specific apps.
To hide your child's app activity:
- Go to Family Center and log in.
- Select your child's account.
- Below Their settings, click Account privacy.
- Click Hide app activity, then use the toggles to hide specific apps.
- Go to Family Center and log in.
- Select your child's account.
- Below Their settings, tap Account privacy.
- Tap Hide app activity, then use the toggles to hide specific apps.
- On your phone, open the Meta Horizon mobile app.
- Tap
Menu at the top of your Horizon Feed.
- Tap Family Center.
- Select your child's account.
- Scroll down to Their settings, then tap Account privacy.
- Tap Hide app activity, then use the toggles to hide specific apps.
You can hide your child's app activity from Horizon Worlds on desktop or mobile browser.
- From horizon.meta.com, select the arrow next to your profile photo in the top right, then select Family Center. This will take you to Family Center.
- Select your child's account.
- Below Their settings, select Account privacy.
- Select Hide app activity, then use the toggles to hide specific apps.
Note: You may need to log into your Meta Account.
When you select an app to hide activity for, Hidden will appear below the app name.
Note: If your child’s activity for specific apps is hidden, your child’s activities in those apps may still be visible to others when they’re using the same app as your child (example: your child’s scores on the leaderboard).